Here we have begun to work a little bit on our "curb appeal". There was an old shed right here on the property and some very overgrown cedar trees. We had to remove one cedar tree to make way for the extension of the driveway. John did an excellent job of trimming those exsisting trees back.
We actually have to share our driveway with the corner lot occupants. The driveway that was there was not wide enough, so we extended it by the length of 1 more culvert. This is what you see as you are entering the driveway from Wood Duck.You can see where John's truck is parked. The shop/apartment will be built directly beyond that.
Here are what the correct footings are supposed to look like. They began this way and then turned into a "nightmare". The backhoe operator quickly found an old trash/debris pit. Not good news.
The pit is about 6ft deep, and we don't think that they are finished digging yet. Lots and lots of debris. They even came across some old septic lines from who knows how long ago.
There is even a picture of John standing near the hole so you can actually tell how big it is. They are going to have an engineer come out and tell us what we are going to have to do to remedy the situation. John says, probably continue to dig out all of the debris and then fill it all with gravel. $$$$$ We can just see it disappearing before ours eyes! Here is a picture of what you see when you stand at the front of the shop/apartment and look to your right towards Mitchell Mill Rd. The right side of that picture will be where we will build the house later on. Behind that tree that is closest to the dirt pile.
Sorry that this is so jumbled up, but I still have not got the hang of posting to this thing! :) If anyone has any words of help for me in this area - I'm all ears.
Anyway, just an update of where we are and what we've been up to. It looks as though we are about to be very, very busy. (who would have thought that we could get any busier!)
If you want to lend a hand and help out in any way, just let us know. We've got an extra room! :)




